PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Uyghur and Uyghur-American Culture

Unregistered
14-04-17, 11:37
Hello - I'm a college student hoping to better understand other cultures, and I've been particularly intrigued and disheartened at the lack of available information on Uyghur culture.

Could any of you point me to credible/accurate sources on Uyghur culture in Xinjiang and also stories about Uyghur lifestyle in the United States? One of my topics of study in college is culture shock and cultural assimilation, and though I understand that in the East Asian-American sense, as a Korean-American, I suspect that the Uyghur-American experience is greatly different.

I apologize if I'm being intrusive or rude. Please let me know if that's the case.

Unregistered
14-04-17, 18:24
You may contact UAA office. They have contact info on this website. If you can formulate some specific questions and leave your email address here, i could forward it to people who could provide relevant perspective if i can't provide answer myself. Good luck with your studies.

Hello - I'm a college student hoping to better understand other cultures, and I've been particularly intrigued and disheartened at the lack of available information on Uyghur culture.

Could any of you point me to credible/accurate sources on Uyghur culture in Xinjiang and also stories about Uyghur lifestyle in the United States? One of my topics of study in college is culture shock and cultural assimilation, and though I understand that in the East Asian-American sense, as a Korean-American, I suspect that the Uyghur-American experience is greatly different.

I apologize if I'm being intrusive or rude. Please let me know if that's the case.

Original Poster
14-04-17, 23:51
Thank you very much for your advice! I will be certain to contact the UAA. As for specific questions...