PDA

View Full Version : What's the truth?

Unregistered
11-11-05, 12:53
Hi. I've been reading this site with great interest; I'm a travel journalist who recently came back from a six week bike tour that circled the Tarim Basin. I found it to be a beautiful and fascinating place, and as we rode from village to village (our route was from Turpin, w. to Kashgar, S. to Hotan, E. to Qarkihk, and then back north to Bohu and Urumchi) I was especially enchanted and impressed by the constant welcome and friendliness we received from the local Uyghur people.

I was with a Chinese bike rider - not an official, just a bike enthusiast - and he painted a very rosy picture of Chinese-Uyghur relations (for example, Uyghars are very well represented in both the national and local governments, and that they have full freedom of religion, and that the Uyghar language is officially recognized at all levels of communication, including in civics, academia, and the news media.) I don't think he was actively propagandizing - more that, perhaps, having never been to that part of China, he simply believed what he'd been told.

The few English-speaking Uyghars I met were mostly young, trained tour guides; they were very nice and answered all my questions, and more or less communicated the same thoughts that my Chinese friends did.

I have to admit, I knew little about the Uyghars when I arrived in China, and when I came home, I noticed a few stories - including some that were linked from this site - that show a much less positive picture of Chinese-Uyghar relations.

I'd simply like some opinions on what the reality is. I have a few questions:

1) Does the average Uyghur in China feel oppressed or restricted? How would Uyghar life change, day-to-day, if those restrictions were removed? Would there be a difference in the way people feel (or would live) in cities like Kashgar and Hotan, versus some of the tiny villages I visited?