PDA

View Full Version : A Uyghur Story of Suffer

Adel.Uyghur
26-10-09, 03:14
A Uyghur Story of Suffer

Translated by Adel Uyghur (Australia)

It is not because I am afraid of using my real name, but this is a tragic story of which every Uyghur youth has been experiencing in these days. So, I’d like to use just “Uyghur” for my name.
I was born in Kucha where may ancestors lived generation after generation. By the time of my childhood, my family became extremely poor as the government imposed various taxes on us and forced my parents to do free work for the government projects.
My father, mother and my brother said “being in the farm is just burning in the hell, we don’t want you to end up us, the only way you could escape of this hell is studying…”.
They all worked extremely hard, wore ragged clothing, and did not eat enough to save money for my study fees. No to disappoint my family, I studied hard day and night and my results were becoming extremely good.
My family saved enough to pay the high fees and expenses and I was able to start my study in a university in Urumqi.
As I needed continous support for the next year’s fees and for my expenses, my brother had to work as a firewoodman – he brings firewood to sale for bakers from a jungle. He asked for help from his friends and they also helped to pay for my fees and other expenses...
Returning home on a holiday, I found that my father died. He refused to go to a hospital to be treated to save money for my studies! My study costed a lot, even my father’s life! What I had thought was everything was going to be fine when graduate.
However, the tragidy was not over yet. In the final year of my 5 years study, my family had been facing up even worse tragidies.